Posted by Admin on May 4, 2009
Has GTB joined the league?:
from Guaranty Trust Bank Security <security.onlineaccess@gtbplc.com>
to
date Mon, May 4, 2009 at 12:20 PM
subject Account Security Alert: Unable To Verify Your Account Information Successfully
hide details 12:20 PM (33 minutes ago)
Reply
Business and Personal Account Alert
Dear Customer,
Unfortunately, we are unable to verify your online banking account successfully
To ensure your protection, we’ve now blocked access to your sensible part of your accounts. You now need to re-set your security. You won’t be able to gain access to your accounts until you’ve done this.
To re-set your security We therefore implore you to click the secure INTERNET BANKING LOGIN below to verify any possible findings
[Internet Banking Login]
Thank you for choosing Guaranty Trust Bank.
Guaranty Trust Bank Security Team.
Properties for the [Internet Banking Login] shows:
Return-Path: <security.onlineaccess@gtbplc.com>
Received: from smtp2e.orange.fr (smtp2e.orange.fr [80.12.242.112])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 7si10461880eyb.25.2009.05.04.03.20.39;
Posted in I.T Security, I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, Nigerian Websites, e-Commerce, scam mails, software | Leave a Comment »
Posted by Admin on April 27, 2009
For 1-minute, I thought the above was genuine. Not that I would have responded to the email, but I just thought InterSwitch was indeed sending an apology/notice to its customers, because of the numerous funny emails traveling around the net.
Whew!!
If the above isn’t clear, heres the message:
from InterSwitch Nigeria Ltd <info@interswitchng.com>
to
date Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 2:44 AM
subject IMPORTANT-Mesaage From InterSwitch
hide details Apr 23 (4 days ago) Reply
Warning: This message may not be from whom it claims to be. Beware of following any links in it or of providing the sender with any personal information. Learn more
Dear Interswitch Card Holder,
During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures with affiliated banks(below), we have detected a slight error in your account information.
This might be due to either of the following reasons:
1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address).
2. Multiple failed attempts on online shopping websites.
3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of payment due to an internal error within our processors.
Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:
https://webpay.interswitchng.com/webpay/
If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to access your account will become restricted.
Note: Card Number (printed on card issued by bank) and Pin are numeric.
Refer to your Debit and/or Cash Cards.
Thank you for choosing, Interswitch.
The funny thing, and which got me suspicious is that I got this e-mail in my other email address which I don’t use for credit alert purposes in my bank.
This is the URL(https://webpay.interswitchng.com/webpay/):
A domain-check shows that the domain:interswitchng.com indeed belongs to interswitch. Hitting up InterSwitch’s URL: http://www.interswitchng.com/, here’s their notice and disclaimer:
Now, as much as Nigerians use their brains for the ‘baddest’ things, I wonder why up till now, InterSwitch has not done anything to curb the activities of their impersonators – at least online.
One grouse I have with the way Nigeria’s banking / ATM bruhaha is the way things are technically setup. With InterSwitch as the middle man, a compromise in their network spells doom for the entire Nigerian banking system.
With the way things are going, the truth is whenever InterSwitch chooses to send an official notice/email, we might as well conclude it is false.
Posted in I.T Security, I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, scam mails | 1 Comment »
Posted by Admin on February 5, 2009
Bank PHB PLC requests that you verify your email address: please REPLY to this email. — 15:40 February 03 2009
Tuesday, February 3, 2009 10:40 PM
From: “Customer Centre” <CustomerCentre@bankphb.com>
Message from “Customer Centre”
______________________________________________________________________
I recognize from your email address that this is the first message I have received from you since Bank PHB PLC began using Sender Address Verification (SAV).
Your message is very important to me. Like you, we are very concerned with stopping the proliferation of spam. We have implemented Sender Address Verification (SAV) to ensure that we do not receive unwanted email and to give you the assurance that your messages to me have no chance of being filtered into a bulk mail folder.
By pressing REPLY and SEND to this message your original message will be delivered to the top of my Inbox. You need only do this once and all future emails will be recognized and delivered directly to me.
When replying to this email, please make sure that the following email address appears in the To: field of the reply:
CustomerCentre-verify-1233672014.8195.1.0.78793800@bankphb.com
If you are unable to respond to this authentication request within 2 weeks, or if your reply is not sent to the correct email address (as indicated above), your message may not be delivered.
Thank you!
Customer Centre
___________________
I have nothing to do with BankPHB, or perhaps this is part of their marketing?
With the message above looking very fishy, I do not know if the email address: CustomerCentre@bankphb.com is a valid one. If it is, whoever’s computer on which the email address is configured might be compromised.
Their contact us page shows this addr: customerrelations@bankphb.com
Between CustomerCentre and Customerrelations, where does BankPHB’s customers stand. I’m mailing them this post, hope someone will give me a reply.
Posted in I.T Security, I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, advance fee fraud, scam mails, spam emails | 8 Comments »