n a i j a t e c h t a l k

The Puzzle: Nigeria, Technology and the Economy – how can these fit together

Archive for the ‘money matters’ Category

419 Mosquito Zapper Killer seller on Nairalist.com: part-2

Posted by Admin on July 10, 2009

nairalist_scam2

While it appears(above) that our Nairalist.com admin has removed the link to the fraudulent advert which I mentioned in this post, the dupe in question is still peddling his wares on Nairalist.

I searched Nairalist with the 0803-8715926 phone-number of Mr. George. He has the following for sale scam as well:

Its unbelievable, that the guy who ran away with NGN6,000(six thousand Naira) paid into his bank account, and who didn’t deliver on his promise of a mosquito repellant now has filling stations for sale, in Nigeria for that matter. Wow!!

Mr. George has also upgraded on his operations to include additional contact phone numbers: 08032963972, 08067768338, 07088378142. The worst thing about this guy is that should you call these numbers one after the other from different phones, Geroge-o-dupe doesn’t have a clue of who called him last.

nairalist_scam3

http://www.nairalist.com/search?q=08038715926

A commenter in my earlier post also claims being duped after trying to purchase electronics items from references found in Waseet, a free 8-page advert filled paper distributed once a week.

Update on earlier post: LD called Oceanic Bank and even went back to the branch where he deposited money into George-O-dupe’s account, presented the deposit slip, etc, and ‘nothing was / could be done’ according to the Oceanic bank officers spoken to:

  • Mr George-O-dupes account details: address etc, wasn’t and couldn’t be provided to LD without Mr. George’s consent. True, but what about the complaint? nothing could be done.
  • Oceanic banks officers couldn’t read in between the lines – check / correlate the activity in the account positively or negatively – and verify if / whether the complaint was genuine or not,
  • the money paid in could not be retrieved, or deducted from the existing balance of the account holder – at least to force him to call the bank / visit the branch to resolve issues with LD?
  • etc, etc, considering the Nigerian Police is as unreliable as NEPA, and can’t be trusted.

The conclusion of the matter was that Oceanic bank wasn’t responsible for how a customer uses his account, either for profitable or fraudulent purposes.

Question: a scammer opens an account in a bank for his scam-loot. Can the bank take action on the account based on a report from a scammed-victim?

Lets discuss!!!

Posted in I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, advance fee fraud, money matters | Leave a Comment »

Guaranty Trust Bank Plc – Your Account Identification Has Been Change or Incomplete Scam-mail – MUST READ

Posted by Admin on July 6, 2009

Below is a screen-shot of a scam mail I received with the above (less ’scam – Must Read) as the mail subject.

Now listen carefully, this is a scam, so don’t click reply if you see such in your mailbox as it looks very much truthful.

 

gtbscam_pic_1: Original email scam mail

gtbank6

 

The ‘from’ mail-addr is online@gtbplc.com.

With the interesting part of this scam-mail as the https://ibank.gtbank.com…URL,  I started by checking out the correct ‘Internet banking URL’ of GT Bank Plc.

 

See the next screenshot.

gtbscam_pic_2: GTB PLC authentic website screen-shot.

gtbank1

 

where #1 is the http://www.gtbplc.com URL,

where#2 is the ‘Internet Banking Login’ link, and

where#3 is https://ibank.gtbank.com, a Scam Alert by GTB, as a pop-up window, after clicking the Internet banking Login URL.

 

Looking closely,

#3 is from internet explorer:

gtbscam_pic_3

gtbank8

 

and this next one is from Mozilla Firefox. I’m using v5.0

gtbscam_pic_4

gtbank7

 

Please note that the above screen-shot(gtbscam_pic_4) via Mozilla Firefox is the exact same URL/weblink in my email.

Here is a zoom-in in view:

gtbscam_pic_5

gtbank3

 

I decided to check out the bottom of the scam-email page and saw this. This is from gmail:

gtbscam_pic_6

gtbank4

 

FYI, Calhountech.com sells used computers and network hardware: computers, servers, cisco, Sun Dell, etc. As of this writing, this is the screenshot of their buisness webpage:

gtbscam_pic_7

gtbank5

Please note that http://calhountech.com/webtree/ibank_gtbplc_com.php presently results in a ‘requested URL not found’ error message:

gtbscam_pic_9

gtbank10

I would rather not point fingers on this one. At the beginning of last month, I received a similar one on my yahoo mail-box and heres another, totally different URL:

gtbscam_pic_10

gtbank11

 

Hunt Essential Fish Fantastic caters through an exclusive club for the elite hunter and fisherman who in particular want to hunt and or fish at premier African destinations.

so what can we conclude?

Could all these genuine websites have been hacked into? - some hacker must be laughing his way around – while he has located his fraudulent weblink and pages in various webservers, and is still fine-tunning his skills, etc, for greater damages?

 

whatever it is, beware!!!

Posted in I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, Nigerian Websites, money matters | 1 Comment »

419 Mosquito Zapper Killer seller on Nairalist.com

Posted by Admin on June 26, 2009

Yours truly just received information about a 419ner / dupe and thief masquerading on Nairalist.com and advertising the product below:

mosquito repellant

A NEWLY IMPORTED MOSQUITO ZAPPER/KILLER ARE FOR SALE, IT ATTRACTS AND KILLS ANY TYPE OF MOSQUITO AND INSECTS,WE HAVE THE ONE THAT USES ELECTRICITY WHICH IS SOLD FOR #4000 AND THE RECHARGABLE ONES WHICH CAN BE RECHARGED AND CARRIED ABOUT,IT IS SOLD FOR #2200 ONLY,WE HAVE THEM IN LARGE QUANTITIES AND DISTRIBUTORS ARE WELLCOMED CALL 08038715926
Date: Wednesday, 10 June, 2009 (2 weeks ago)
Location: Idimu, Lagos State, Nigeria.

http://www.nairalist.com/lagos/forsale/1210

A friend of your’s truly (LD) unfortunately contacted the guy at 08038715926 and a deal was struck to purchase 2-units of the above mosquito repellant.

LD paid NGN6,000.00(six thousand Naira) since Wednesday into the Oceanic Bank Account with details:

name: Ifeanyi Chukwu K George

account number: 233-000-100-9279

Mr Ifeanyi George has since disappeared, hasn’t produced the goods and isn’t picking up his phone number. FFO has tried calling the above MTN number with other numbers and disguising as a fresh enquirer – and George is still doing his sales.

Beware!

I believe this calls for Nairalist.com admin to put strategies in place to verify the identity of product sellers on his website, before their adverts are published, else, he and Nairalist.com might become a tool in the hand of fraudulent web-surfers.

p.s: looking at the picture closely, you’ll notice Adobe Photoshop playing around.

Posted in News, news, news, Nigeria, Nigerian Websites, advance fee fraud, enterprenership, money matters | 5 Comments »