n a i j a t e c h t a l k

The Puzzle: Nigeria, Technology and the Economy – how can these fit together

Guaranty Trust Bank Plc – Your Account Identification Has Been Change or Incomplete Scam-mail – MUST READ

Posted by Admin on July 6, 2009

Below is a screen-shot of a scam mail I received with the above (less ’scam – Must Read) as the mail subject.

Now listen carefully, this is a scam, so don’t click reply if you see such in your mailbox as it looks very much truthful.

 

gtbscam_pic_1: Original email scam mail

gtbank6

 

The ‘from’ mail-addr is online@gtbplc.com.

With the interesting part of this scam-mail as the https://ibank.gtbank.com…URL,  I started by checking out the correct ‘Internet banking URL’ of GT Bank Plc.

 

See the next screenshot.

gtbscam_pic_2: GTB PLC authentic website screen-shot.

gtbank1

 

where #1 is the http://www.gtbplc.com URL,

where#2 is the ‘Internet Banking Login’ link, and

where#3 is https://ibank.gtbank.com, a Scam Alert by GTB, as a pop-up window, after clicking the Internet banking Login URL.

 

Looking closely,

#3 is from internet explorer:

gtbscam_pic_3

gtbank8

 

and this next one is from Mozilla Firefox. I’m using v5.0

gtbscam_pic_4

gtbank7

 

Please note that the above screen-shot(gtbscam_pic_4) via Mozilla Firefox is the exact same URL/weblink in my email.

Here is a zoom-in in view:

gtbscam_pic_5

gtbank3

 

I decided to check out the bottom of the scam-email page and saw this. This is from gmail:

gtbscam_pic_6

gtbank4

 

FYI, Calhountech.com sells used computers and network hardware: computers, servers, cisco, Sun Dell, etc. As of this writing, this is the screenshot of their buisness webpage:

gtbscam_pic_7

gtbank5

Please note that http://calhountech.com/webtree/ibank_gtbplc_com.php presently results in a ‘requested URL not found’ error message:

gtbscam_pic_9

gtbank10

I would rather not point fingers on this one. At the beginning of last month, I received a similar one on my yahoo mail-box and heres another, totally different URL:

gtbscam_pic_10

gtbank11

 

Hunt Essential Fish Fantastic caters through an exclusive club for the elite hunter and fisherman who in particular want to hunt and or fish at premier African destinations.

so what can we conclude?

Could all these genuine websites have been hacked into? - some hacker must be laughing his way around – while he has located his fraudulent weblink and pages in various webservers, and is still fine-tunning his skills, etc, for greater damages?

 

whatever it is, beware!!!

Posted in I.T fraud / Cybercrime, Nigeria, Nigerian Banks, Nigerian Websites, money matters | 1 Comment »

N400,000 Brand New Nano Cars Coming to Nigeria

Posted by Admin on July 4, 2009

I blogged about it before: India unveils 1-Lakh Car, and its finally here.

 

nano_car

 

N400,000 Brand New Cars Coming
By Femi Osinusi – 04.07.2009

NIGERIANS, from early next year, may be able to buy a brand new car for just N400,000.

Indication to this emerged on Friday as it was gathered that India’s largest vehicle manufacturers, Tata, is planning to introduce ultra-cheap car, Nano, into the Nigerian market.

According to reports, the company will, from 2010, introduce the Nano brand along with its Indica Vista hatchback and Sumo Grande models in to the African market with Nigeria expected to be its first port of call.

It said the beautiful car would cost between N375,480 and N400,000 when it is launched in Nigeria in 2010.

According to its website, Tata Nano is the world’s most affordable car in the market. It has an engine of 32 LP, a tank of 624cc, a two-cylinder engine placed at the rear of the vehicle.

It also said the main body of the car is steel while the bumpers are plastic. It weighs 1,322 pounds and has space for four passengers.

However, it could not be ascertained whether the vehicle would be assembled in Nigeria or imported directly from India, but sources said the car and other brands would also be sold in South Africa and Senegal, but that Nigeria would be the first port of call of the car.

source: http://www.tribune.com.ng/04072009/news/news3.html

 

Posted in Do It yourself, News, news, news, Nigeria, engineering, innovation, transportation | Leave a Comment »

419 Mosquito Zapper Killer seller on Nairalist.com

Posted by Admin on June 26, 2009

Yours truly just received information about a 419ner / dupe and thief masquerading on Nairalist.com and advertising the product below:

mosquito repellant

A NEWLY IMPORTED MOSQUITO ZAPPER/KILLER ARE FOR SALE, IT ATTRACTS AND KILLS ANY TYPE OF MOSQUITO AND INSECTS,WE HAVE THE ONE THAT USES ELECTRICITY WHICH IS SOLD FOR #4000 AND THE RECHARGABLE ONES WHICH CAN BE RECHARGED AND CARRIED ABOUT,IT IS SOLD FOR #2200 ONLY,WE HAVE THEM IN LARGE QUANTITIES AND DISTRIBUTORS ARE WELLCOMED CALL 08038715926
Date: Wednesday, 10 June, 2009 (2 weeks ago)
Location: Idimu, Lagos State, Nigeria.

http://www.nairalist.com/lagos/forsale/1210

A friend of your’s truly (LD) unfortunately contacted the guy at 08038715926 and a deal was struck to purchase 2-units of the above mosquito repellant.

LD paid NGN6,000.00(six thousand Naira) since Wednesday into the Oceanic Bank Account with details:

name: Ifeanyi Chukwu K George

account number: 233-000-100-9279

Mr Ifeanyi George has since disappeared, hasn’t produced the goods and isn’t picking up his phone number. FFO has tried calling the above MTN number with other numbers and disguising as a fresh enquirer – and George is still doing his sales.

Beware!

I believe this calls for Nairalist.com admin to put strategies in place to verify the identity of product sellers on his website, before their adverts are published, else, he and Nairalist.com might become a tool in the hand of fraudulent web-surfers.

p.s: looking at the picture closely, you’ll notice Adobe Photoshop playing around.

Posted in News, news, news, Nigeria, Nigerian Websites, advance fee fraud, enterprenership, money matters | 5 Comments »