Social Networking and International Spaming – yaari style

Just in case you are one of those that join here and there, in a hope to be ‘socially networked’ beware.

I received 8-emails last week Thursday and Friday inviting me to join yaari.com, 8-emails from 8 of my friends. Wondering why all the bruhaha came about, I mailed one of them on Friday, a lady to ask ‘whats up – just to confirm that she invited me/not’. She replied that she registered on yaari.com, but really didn’t send me an invite.

The same reply came from the other friend of mine whom I mailed about the invite. Apparently aware of what was going on, another has quickly emailed me:

If you receive an invitation from Yaari.com to join their social networking site, suggesting it came from me, it is not true. Please ignore them. If you sign up, they will give you the same treatment as they had with me.

What happened was I responded to an invitation from an old friend in India to join. They surreptiously mined my address book to send out all these invitations and they cover themselves with some legal fine print embedded in their Terms and Conditions.

You can learn more about their unsavoury business practice at http://www.profy.com/2007/10/31/yaari-social-network-or-international-scam

My apologies for all these troubles.

They sure have a serious ‘business practice’:here.

boycott-yaari

“By registering for Yaari and agreeing to the Terms of Use, you authorize Yaari to send an e-mail notification to all the contacts listed in the address book of the e-mail address you provide during registration.”

On what the founder has to say of competition with another ‘social-networking’ idea, here.

A little “what others have to say”:
Boycot Yaari.com – Spam 2.0
Say No to Yaari.com
Yaaricom – insanity rediscovered

If a word enough for the wise!!

2 responses

  1. This article presents clear idea designed for the new people of
    blogging, that really how to do running a blog.

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your
    feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

