Precious memories: Professor Kwesi Andam

The first time I set my foot on the soil at Kwane Nkrumah University of Science and Technology was in 2003 and since then I fell in love with the institution. I was so happy to see an institution with modem buildings, a serene environment that spells education, a Library with recent books, magazines and journals, well equipped laboratories(engineering) etc., polite students and University staff. I was so surprised to see all these right in the heart of Africa, in Kumasi, Ghana, where people line up at bus-stops, walk about gently, drive gently, where University students dress up like students(especially the females), where the roads at pot-hole-less. Permit me to say I was stunned.

Two years later, I was back again for 3–weeks seminar, during which I met Professor Allottey, the name which immediately rang a bell from my University Physics days. whom I had thought to be European/American all along. Permit me to say that I was so surprised that this man was ‘black’.

AndamThen I met Professor Kwesi Andam, who spoke with the language of a true Professor. I could almost see the vision emanating from his eyes, as he delivered his speech, starting with his birth, childhood, academic years, his wife, his married life and family, his professional career.

His academic days challenged me most, as he described his PhD project, which he described as extremely tough(then), but extremely simple(today) considering the various technologies that have made life simple. He noted that making life simple was the purpose of technology, and that the University was a major player in producing graduates that would make the world a better place. I was really challenged by his ‘do it yourself’ attitude as he asked: ‘when will Africa begin helping herself’. 

I beheld a man who worked for all he had, a man who knew where he was going, what he wanted to do and what he had been / was doing about it all. He told us of his vision for the KNUST, the progress they have been making, all in the technological line. He spoke of Africa, of Europe and America, he covered the whole world just in a couple of minutes. I was so challenged that day, t’was as if I should grow wings and fly.

Some few minutes ago, I was checking up on the photos section of the KNUST webpage , only to read that Professor Andam is no more. Worse, it has been months since he passed and I never heard.

I am at a loss of words at this moment because we have lost another gem.

Dear Professor, may your gentle soul rest in Peace, and you can be sure that the seeds you planted in all of us during your short speech (over 15–countries were represented) will live forever.

Andam funeral

 

2 responses

  1. We pray to get more renowed Ghanaian Scientists like Professors Andam and Allotey.

  2. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

