Investigating http://www.mtnfifagame.com

Pardon the title of the above post, but for me not to sound preumptous /point an accusing finger at the wrong person, the title of this post is as is. A comment on the post titled: MTN Fraud Alert – mtnwin.t35.com is a Fraud, don’t fall for it has prompted this post.

This is the comment: (click image below to enlarge)

2

Investigating http://www.mtnfifagame.com, here are its registration details:

   Registration Service Provided By: NVH Inc
Contact: sales@nvhserver.com
Website: http://www.nvhserver.com

Domain Name: MTNFIFAGAME.COM

Registrant:
    PrivacyProtect.org
    Domain Admin        (contact@privacyprotect.org)
    P.O. Box 97
    Note – All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
    Moergestel
    null,5066 ZH
    NL
    Tel. +45.36946676

Creation Date: 25-Jul-2009 
Expiration Date: 25-Jul-2010

Domain servers in listed order:
    ns4.highhosting.net
    ns3.highhosting.net
    ns2.highhosting.net
    ns1.highhosting.net

Administrative Contact:
    PrivacyProtect.org
    Domain Admin        (contact@privacyprotect.org)
    P.O. Box 97
    Note – All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
    Moergestel
    null,5066 ZH
    NL
    Tel. +45.36946676

Technical Contact:
    PrivacyProtect.org
    Domain Admin        (contact@privacyprotect.org)
    P.O. Box 97
    Note – All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
    Moergestel
    null,5066 ZH
    NL
    Tel. +45.36946676

Billing Contact:
    PrivacyProtect.org
    Domain Admin        (contact@privacyprotect.org)
    P.O. Box 97
    Note – All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
    Moergestel
    null,5066 ZH
    NL
    Tel. +45.36946676

Status:ACTIVE

PRIVACYPROTECT.ORG is providing privacy protection services to this domain name to
protect the owner from spam and phishing attacks. PrivacyProtect.org is not
responsible for any of the activities associated with this domain name. If you wish
to report any abuse concerning the usage of this domain name, you may do so at
http://privacyprotect.org/contact. We have a stringent abuse policy and any
complaint will be actioned within a short period of time.

The data in this whois database is provided to you for information purposes only,
that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or related
to a domain name registration record. We make this information available “as is”,
and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a whois query, you agree that you will
use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this
data to:
(1) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress
or load this whois database system providing you this information; or
(2) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic mail, or by telephone.
The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this data is expressly
prohibited without
prior written consent from us. The Registrar of record is Directi Internet Solutions Pvt.
Ltd. d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.com.
We reserve the right to modify these terms at any time.
By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms.

 
   The previous information has been obtained either directly from the registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than Network Solutions. Network Solutions, therefore, does not guarantee its accuracy or completeness. 
  
     Show underlying registry data for this record 
    
 

Current Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM 
IP Address: 209.172.60.242 (ARIN & RIPE IP search) 
IP Location: CA(CANADA)-ONTARIO-TORONTO
 
Lock Status: clientTransferProhibited 
DMOZ  no listings 
Y! Directory:  see listings 
WebSite Title: MTN Nigeria 
Data as of: 23-Apr-2008 

source: click here

Looking quite genuine, at least until we prove otherwise, below is the screen-cap of mtnfifagame.com Click image to enlarge.

1

The odd / funny thing about the site are:

I do not have an MTN line in my possession at the moment, I could have done some trial and error, etc., but I could just cut the site admin some slack, considering the domain was registered 25july and perhaps the site was launched some days later. Today is just Aug3rd

Looking around further, (click to enlarge),

3

the ‘Site credits’ on the footer link to http://www.taviatech.com.ng/ while others link to mtnonline.com. Please note that Tavia Technologies Ltd is an Application Solutions Provider, with the MTN as one of their clients.

With whois results for mtnonline.com here, with IP address: 41.220.77.191, and the email ayo@taviatech.com as the administrative contact, I think it best to contact Mr. Ayo(this post will be emailed to him) to confirm if http://www.mtnfifagame.com is genuine or not. I will keep you posted.

72 responses

  1. i really appreciate this opportunity you have giving me to be among the the winners.moreso this opportunity you have giving me a joy to be apartaker of the world cup coming up in 2010 and the amount attached to it.1,000,000(naira).Thanks.Mrs inyang.co

  2. I am very happy for opportunity you giving to me for tikect world cup in 2010 and also amount 1,000,000.Thanks. Salisu.

  3. kindly link me to the list of ligible winners of 2010 fifa games proposed for 2010. My code no. is 462070

  4. Pls. confirm if Mr. Jeremaih Obiano with mtn no. 08035061763 has worn the 2010 fifa game. The code number that was sent from mtn for confirmation is 462070

  5. Pls. forward the answer to request four to me

  6. yuo sent a message dated 1st aug 2009 trough mtn ng dat was d number used. pls kindly txt me back if mtn is truely the owner of dat number (MTN NG) MY NO IS 08032247537 OR EMAIL femialtar@yahoo.com 2 confirm if i have truely won a ticket 2 2010 fifagame and a million. ur reply willl be hgily appreciated.pls save ur customers from fraud. thanks ajayi

  7. @Mrs Inyang, Salisu, Jeff and Ajayi,

    Kindly note that the above post is to try and report a scam, not to advertize in any way the MTN Fifa game issue. Pls dont be scammed.

  8. Humor this people a bit. i think EVERYBODY should bombard the fake site…WITH FAKE DETAILS.
    it would be fun!

  9. Please i recieve a text message that i won 1m naira and a ticket. Please i hav already fill in my account details. Please if it is not geniue then tell me and save me from fraudsters.

  10. Thanks for the FIFA and amounting to 1,000,000.00.

    Thanks

  11. how are we going to be sure that mtnfifagame winning price is not a fraud,because my bank detailes are requested,including my ATM detailes why?.

  12. i received a message from a sender shown as ‘MTN N’ on 24th July, 2009 at exactly 12:11 am that reads as follows:

    you are a winner of (lm & free trip to 2010 w/cup) in THE GAME OF LIFE !Go to http://www.mtnfifagame.tk immediately for confirmation. YOUR PERSONAL CODE IS 462070
    I was very happy and quickly give thanks to God. ordinarilly as an unemployed graduate with a degree of an upper division, i have so many business plans which only money can materialize. i quickly alloted the million to about 3 different businesses. i browsed the internet on my phone but the page cannot be fully displayed. in the morning before 7.00 i was out of bed looking for a cyber cafe to confirm my winning with my code as read, on getting to the site, i smile in a style, for it seem too real to be a scam. i quickly followed the steps involve, my personal data, account details, and the likes. immediately i left the cafe, i called the MTN customer care for double confirmation, it was then i got to know that i have been partially scammed, partially because i couldn’t sleep out of anxiety ever since i received the message unfortunately it was as early as 12:11 am, in the money i browsed with almost N500 for the server was crawling, i gave my account details out to scammer but fortunately no single Naira was in my account for over 6 months now. so i had a narrow escape. i will change my atm details when i am ready to be operating the account. this is my experience. TOO REAL TO BE FALSE

  13. it’s awesome seeing the greatest message of my life that i won 1,000,000,000.because its interesting.how are my sure I’m not been fraud ed.message received on 3rd of August this year.code 462070

  14. i wonder how people get excited over a game they didnt play 4. even if you did,without confirmation you’re submitting all your vital details already. dont get excited over millions and loose the little you have. beware

  15. I got a message issueing that i won a sum of 1,000,000,000 in the fifa world cup 2010 i request a legal confirmation from MTN nigeria,this message also contains a code number 462070

  16. In two different occasions i have received a message from mtn referring me to two different sites , one on the4th of July ,the other on the 12th of august .what a shame for them cos some one like me can hardly fall for a cheap scam like that.Well , i wish them luck cos i know for sure that some chicken brains will definitely fall for it.

  17. stanley sylvanus

    i got a text from mtn nig on August 3 2009, IT READS YOU ARE A WINNER 0F (N1,000.000.00& A FREE TICKET TO THE 2010 W/CUP).VISIT(WWW.MTNFIFAGAME.COM)IMMEDIATELY FOR VERIFICATION: CODE:462070.PLEASE MTN IS THIS REAL? IF NOT HOW DID THE SENDER GET INTO YOUR CODES TO SEND SUCH TEXT TO YOUR COSTOMERS

  18. ADENEGAN, KEHINDE

    infact, these so called fraudsters are all over. my wife came back from church vigil early dis morning only 2 show me a text frm MTN telling her dat she has worn 1M wt d same code sent to many people and i told her it is a scam and cant be true. i was never excited abt it. but when i got to d offic, as usual i checked my mail and just find out dat many people r victims of such.
    i just want 2 advise mtn 2 try 2 find out those behind this who try to use mtn facilities or name to do their frauds. and i equally tell all nigerians to beware, whoever will be rich will be rich if it is God’s will amnd not tru any fowl means.
    Thanks

  19. ADENEGAN, KEHINDE

    infact, these so called fraudsters are all over. my wife came back from church vigil early dis morning only 2 show me a text frm MTN telling her dat she has worn 1M wt d same code sent to many people and i told her it is a scam and cant be true. i was never excited abt it. but when i got to d offic, as usual i checked my mail and just find out dat many people r victims of such.
    i just want 2 advise mtn 2 try 2 find out those behind this who try to use mtn facilities or name to do their frauds. and i equally tell all nigerians to beware, whoever will be rich will be rich if it is God’s will amnd not tru any fowl means.
    Thanks. hope all will learn frm this and others experience.

  20. I Shittu Moshood from Ilorin in Kwara state was texted that I won a sum of 1000000naira in fifa2010w/cup game which i did not played. I want mtn to confirm such for me and to bring it to notice for everyone to be concious of fraudars if otherwise.

  21. NIGERIANS SHOULD BE WISER, IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ANYONE TO WIN IN A GAME NOT PLAYED. MTN SHOULD ALSO BE HELPFUL BECAUSE U FIND OUT THAT THE SERVICE LINE 180 IS NEVER EASY TO CONNECT TO WHEN A MASAGE LIKE THIS THAT NEED URGENT CONFIRMATION IS RECEIVED. THANKS

  22. i recvd a text on 07/08/09 at about 01:48:13 HRS from MTN NG informing me that i worn 1M naira and a free ticket to 2010 world cup with a verification code of 462070. my no is 08037036348. pls kindly confirm the autenticity of this sms sent to me and the way forward.

  23. I RECEIVE A MSG ON 12 OF AUGUST 2009 AT 8:14:00 THAT I HAVE WON 1,000000. THANKS FOR INCLUDING ME AMONG THE LUCKY WINNER OF 1,000000 NAIRA AM VERY HAPPY PLEASE KINDLY HELP ME TO CONFIRM THE AUTENTICITY OF THIS SMS SENT TO ME AND THE WAY FORWARD

  24. thaks to mtn, i am so happy

  25. i recvd a text from MTN N on 12/08/09 time 08:14 saying that i won N1m on fifa 2010 W/cup game of life and verification code is 462070. pls confirm it, my number is 07030086043. thanx

  26. hfghghhh ggggggggggggggggggggg bhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjj jkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk klllollkk nnml;;’;iik mjmjkiolmb nhyuukk kkkiuuvffg kjkiop;; njjiioo

  27. my wife receive sms from mtn that she win 1m naira, immediately she forward it to me. i will just give this advice to mtn company to do something fast because of there popular name because i find it that is a very fraud.

  28. thanks for informingp pls sending nessary information to my emaill address thanks.

  29. pls mtn, be serious with this your fifa promo thing,why sending sms that is creating stress on your subscribers.please forward more details on how to claim the money (08066175003).thanks

  30. I rcvd the same type of msg, Pls MTN do something about it.The credibility of your company is at stake
    Thanks

  31. OTI OKORO IS MY NAME
    I WONDER HOW PEOPLE CAN WIN A GAME THEY DID NOT PLAY. I GOT THIS MESSAGE FROM A CERTAIN MTN NIG THAT I WON A MILLION NAIRA. I DID NOT BELIEVE IT BECAUSE I REMEMBERED PLAYING NO MTN GAME. THIS IS COMPLETE 419. MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS BEWARE. THANK YOU.

  32. though i am not a mtn subscriber, why is it that you this people so call telecommunications company not only mtn keep stressing people on what is not true. pls do something about it and stop sending this useless information

  33. MTN, CANT U FIND A WAY OF CUTTING SHORT THESE DOMINATING FRAUDSTERS?I ALMOST FEL 4 THEM AMONGST OTHERS.PLS DO SMTHING FAST BEFORE MORE ARE FRAUDED.THERE PREVALENCE MAKES UR SERVICES UNREAL.THANKS

  34. MTN ARE UR SERVICES REALLY REAL? CANT ONE BE A GENUINE WINNER ONCE.IMPROVE MORE BETTER ON UR SERVICES SECURITY WISE.

  35. I got a text by 2.19am 21st August that I’m a lucky winner of N1m in the fifa 2010 W/Cup game, got excited but had my reservations. After checking the site, I realised that this fraudulent guys have been sending similar messages to numerious people with the same code, since a couple of months back. My question is why should MTN name be used by them for so long without been able to stop them. MTN should have by now at least send a warning message to all its costumers about this information to keep us alert. Delaying to do this means handling more victims to the imposters, except if MTN is having anything to gain from them oh!!. Pigs can fly these days.

  36. AUG
    21,2009
    THANKS FOR UR INFORMATION ,PLZ HOW TO CLAIM THE MONEY . PLZ CELL ME 08037026163 FOR MORE INFORMATION.
    THANKS

  37. MY NAME IS MOHAMMED
    I GOT THIS MESSAGE FROM MTN NG THAT I WON A MILLION NAIRA THIS MORNING. IAM NOT BELIEVING THIS.I ASSUMED THIS IS COMPLETELY A 419. MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS BEWARE. THANK YOU.THE MTN SHOULD PLEASE INFORM THEIR SUBSCRIBERS TO BE AWARE OF SUCH FRAUD OR BE SUED

  38. i also received a similar message from MTN NG!,saying i should go to http://www.2010fifagame.com.nu to claim my 1 million naira,i think its a fraud.

  39. pls send me all neccessary information, if truely i won 1,000000 naira@fifagame2010. pls send to tunstildey@yahoo.com or my phone number 08034031518. my confirmation code is; 462070.

  40. na wa oh. so scam don enter d nxt level naija eh.abeg mtn do eveytin about dis barawo b4 dem go reck person account.

  41. i got a message on 19th from mtn telling me dat i won a million naira.i just want to know if its real or false.pls let me know.my email adress is namco4all@yahoo.com

  42. My name is okechukwu daniel i recived a message from mtn telling me dat won 1m naria on mtn2010fifagame is it true? My phone number is 08033260648

  43. My name is okechukwu daniel i recived a message from mtn telling me dat won 1m naria on mtn2010fifagame is it true? My phone number is 08033260648. the date is 12/08/2009

  44. whaoooo i dont think this is a real thing coz it is a fraud???????

  45. I have an easy way of detecting fraud which is based on certain principles of life, viz: 1)nothing goes 4 nothing(especially in Nigeria). It is hard enough gettin rewarded 4 what u worked 4 much more what u didn’t work for. 2) when compromisin details such as credit card no or ATM NO are demanded online d chances are 1 to a million that it’s fraud(especially when u are not buyin anythin online 4rm an authentic website, and it’s hard enough knowin which is.) No organisation worth her salt would demand these details online(what with hackers on d loose.) There are more pointers,one of which is a sellin pitch about not tellin anybody about it(for security reasons of course!), but this would do 4 now.

  46. I think the EFCC should intensify efforts at combating financial crime in the communication sector.
    The GSM service providers should equally help the security agencies and the public fight this menace.

  47. i receceived ur message on 21st august 2009 by 06.24pm

  48. I received your message by 2.18am on 26th august,2009.Please send me the confirmation list through my number 08033947773 or the above e-mail address.

  49. kelvin Beresiri

    I was sent an SMS stating that ,i won N1m from MTN NG,in the fifa game 2010 promotions,code;462070, phone no; 08034321258.I WANT TO CONFIRM, PLEASE REPLY URGENTLY,THANKS.

  50. will have seen your message that will win 1million naira on 21th of august by,2;42am,ny code number is 462070,pls send the necessary information to my number,08038302491.

  51. shofolahan,olubunmi.Enoch.

    please,i got an information on my mobile phone at exactly 4;17am today,28/08/2009,that i have won a million naira in an UN going,fifa game of life.i want to confirm this information.my code number is 462070,while my number is 080-32086489. please,am waiting for your response on my phone,thanks,bunmi.

  52. MOHAMMAD BASHIR

    IT IS COME TO MY ,NOTICE THAT I AM ,AMONG THE WINNERS OF N1m WHEN I, RECIEVE A MESSAGE FROM MTN FIFA WORLD CUP GAME OF LIFE ON 28 AUGUST 2009 BY 04:50:22AM. AND MY CODE IS 462070.SO I REALLY APPRIECIET IT AND I WRITE TO CONFIRM.PHONE NO:08034598656.
    THANKS.

  53. i got message on 25 august that i am a lucky winner of 1,000,000 naira in the fifa2010 world cup game of life.i was directed to visit http://www.fifagame2010.com.nu, with the code no 462070 for confirmation

  54. I received sms twice on 10/08/09 to visit(www.mtnscore.tk)immeadiateely for verification:code462070,and on the 28/08/09 that iam a winner of #1,000,000 and free ticket to the worldcup eventto visit http://www.fifaworldcuo.com.nu, immediately for confirmation:CODE 462070.My gsm no.is 08035901431.Sir,may know if this is really true, through my email or gsm number.God bless mtn ng.

  55. My dad received a message on 8 of aug by Mtn N sayin e won 1m naira 2 visit http://www.fifagame2010.com.nu. Wit code num 16rpz den imediately i contacted costomer care but cld’t get 2ru. pls u guy sld cal or rply my mail 2 knw if its fraud or not cos i played game 4 him but dat was last mth. Pls rply on mail. But if rly its a fraud den u guys sld do smtin abt dis fast.

  56. i recieved a message on 21 august of winning 1 million naira. my no is 08038294888 irequest for confirmation due it doesnt look real.

  57. Pls try to find a lasting solution to this fraudulent act by somebody trying to tarnish the image of your company. Reply me on the latest development with this no (08063475038) or my above mail box. Thanks.

  58. My dad got an information on his fone sayin dat he has won on 03/10/09 $ shld visit http://www.fifapromo.com.His code is 462070. Pls i want to confirm if dis information is true. My dad`s fone no is 08035659861.

  59. honorable victor. e

    i need a comfirmation of the mtn message me that i won a million naira. contact 08039192466,

  60. Mrs Adeonigbagbe

    I got a text frm Mtn Nigeria tht am a winner in d fifa 2010 game.winin code is 462070.
    Pls send confirmatn.my numbr is 08038315985

  61. i beg stop this fraudulent nonsense 4 d sake of ur costomers. 08066695512

  62. Mrs Ayodele.
    My mum receivd an info sayn she won #1.000000.00 wit d verificatn no 462070.pls ao tru is dis.ha no is 08039500251 or d_lola4ril@yahoo.com.which is my e mail

  63. I’m pretty sure it’s a scam because even though a lot of time and effort was put into the website to make it look genuine,quite a few things just don’t add up from my point of view:
    1.the website address changes from what is in the text to “www.2009anniversary.com” which to me seems very fishy as “2009 anniversary” doesnt have any association with MTN to the best of my knowledge.
    2.almost every link on the web page (except those at the bottom) leads you back to the same page when you click on it which is extremely unusual.Such a shoddy website would not come from a company as high profile as MTN.
    3.as is common with these fraudsters,their hurry or lack of proper education/technical finesse means that they make little mistakes here and there which for me is always a red flag,especially when it comes to fishy things like this.
    4.lastly,the fact that THE SAME ACTIVATION CODE “462070” was sent to everyone gives the whole thing a rotten stench.Even when I put in a mobile number which I know is inactive (and thus,couldn’t have received the text),it still works which in my opinion further corroborates the scam theory.

  64. […] Comments ola on ETISALAT 0809uchoose numbers r…Mofu on Investigating http://www.…sandrar on Technical Human Resources – a …sunny omah Mctheophi… on MTN Fraud Alert […]

  65. […] Comments n a i j a t e c h t … on Investigating http://www.…ola on ETISALAT 0809uchoose numbers r…Mofu on Investigating http://www.…sandrar […]

  66. i got txt 4rom MTN dat i won 1 mil pls reach on me wit these no 08037370580 for confirmation.

  67. AFOLAYAN JAMES ADEBAYO

    I got message from mtn on 23 sept 2009 at 02:49am that i won 1000000 pls reach me with this number 08039187661 for confirmation

  68. Emiekagbon O. Jeffery

    Hay! i got a message from MTN saying that i ve won 1million naira. Pls i want u to verify it for me by sending a text to this number 07034624136

  69. hello all,

    Thanks for all your comments on this post. Please note, the reason for publishing this information is for your own good: A WARNING, SO THAT YOU DO NOT FALL PREY to SCAMMERS who send out all sorts of information.

    Its surprising though – I’m assuming that as many people still saying they have recceived a text message from here and there, and asking for confirmation / verification DID NOT READ THE POST, or PERHAPS DO NOT UNDERSTAND SIMPLE ENGLISH.

    AGAIN, PLEASE NOTE: htto://www.mtnfifagame.com IS A FRAUD. DO NOT FALL FOR IT. If you get scammed, its your own loss.

    An update on this post is here

    and for the benefit of all, COMMENTS ARE HEREBY CLOSED.

