MTN Scam site: investigating http://www.2009anniversary.com

This post is informed by: Comment #66, on the Investigating http://www.mtnfifagame.com post, by Mofu. Thanks Mofu for this contribution, its appreciated. If you find more like this, pls keep us posted.

– – – – –

The name of this new fraudulent MTN Website is http://www.2009anniversary.com/, all with the same design/features as the mtnfifagame website scam. Here is a screenshot:

click pic below to enlarge:

2009anniversary

heres what Mofu has to say:

I’m pretty sure it’s a scam because even though a lot of time and effort was put into the website to make it look genuine,quite a few things just don’t add up from my point of view:
1. the website address changes from what is in the text to “www.2009anniversary.com” which to me seems very fishy as “2009 anniversary” doesnt have any association with MTN to the best of my knowledge.

2.almost every link on the web page (except those at the bottom) leads you back to the same page when you click on it which is extremely unusual.Such a shoddy website would not come from a company as high profile as MTN.

3.as is common with these fraudsters,their hurry or lack of proper education/technical finesse means that they make little mistakes here and there which for me is always a red flag,especially when it comes to fishy things like this.

4.lastly,the fact that THE SAME ACTIVATION CODE “462070? was sent to everyone gives the whole thing a rotten stench.Even when I put in a mobile number which I know is inactive (and thus,couldn’t have received the text),it still works which in my opinion further corroborates the scam theory.

Need I say more? A word is enough for the wise.

It seems though that these scammers have moved their Scam ideas from Canada to Malaysia. Check out information about the site:

Note the highlighted texts:

Address lookup

canonical name 2009anniversary.com.
aliases 
addresses  124.217.231.209
Domain Whois record

Queried whois.internic.net with “dom 2009anniversary.com”…

   Domain Name: 2009ANNIVERSARY.COM
   Registrar: WEB COMMERCE COMMUNICATIONS LIMITED DBA WEBNIC.CC
   Whois Server: whois.webnic.cc
   Referral URL:
http://www.webnic.cc
   Name Server: NS1.EZYDOMAIN.COM
   Name Server: NS2.EZYDOMAIN.COM
   Status: clientDeleteProhibited
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Status: clientUpdateProhibited
  
Updated Date: 16-jun-2009
   Creation Date: 16-jun-2009
   Expiration Date: 16-jun-2010

>>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Sep 2009 11:14:40 UTC <<<
Queried whois.webnic.cc with “2009anniversary.com”…

The Data in Web Commerce Communications Limited (“WEBCC”)’s WHOIS database is provided by WEBCC for information purposes, and to assist in obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record. WEBCC does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree  that you will use this Data only for lawful purposes and that, under no
circumstances will you use this Data to:

(1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
    commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail (spam).
(2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to WEBCC
    (or its systems).

The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is
expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of WEBCC. WEBCC
reserves the right to terminate your access to the WEBCC WHOIS database in
its sole discretion, including without limitation, for excessive querying
of the WHOIS database or for failure to otherwise abide by this policy.
WEBCC reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

Domain: 2009anniversary.com
Status: Protected

DNS:
 ns1.ezydomain.com
 ns2.ezydomain.com

Created: 2009-06-17 08:57:28
Expires: 2010-06-17 08:57:28
Last Modified: 2009-06-17 08:43:19

Registrant Contact:
 Whoisprotection.cc
 Domain Admin  (
reg_455094@whoisprotection.cc)
 Lot 2-1, Incubator 1, Technology Park Malaysia, Bukit Jalil
 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia 57000
 P: +603.89966788  F: +603.0

Administrative Contact:
 Whoisprotection.cc
 Domain Admin  (
adm_455094@whoisprotection.cc)
 Lot 2-1, Incubator 1, Technology Park Malaysia, Bukit Jalil
 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia 57000
 P: +603.89966788  F: +603.0

Technical Contact:
 Whoisprotection.cc
 Domain Admin  (
tec_455094@whoisprotection.cc)
 Lot 2-1, Incubator 1, Technology Park Malaysia, Bukit Jalil
 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia 57000
 P: +603.89966788  F: +603.0

Billing Contact:
 Whoisprotection.cc
 Domain Admin  (
bil_455094@whoisprotection.cc)
 Lot 2-1, Incubator 1, Technology Park Malaysia, Bukit Jalil
 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia 57000
 P: +603.89966788  F: +603.0
Network Whois record

Queried whois.apnic.net with “124.217.231.209”…

inetnum:      124.217.224.0 – 124.217.255.255
netname:      PIRADIUS-NET
descr:        PIRADIUS NET
country:      MY
admin-c:      PA124-AP
tech-c:       PA124-AP
status:       ALLOCATED PORTABLE
remarks:      -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
remarks:      This object can only be updated by APNIC hostmasters.
remarks:      To update this object, please contact APNIC
remarks:      hostmasters and include your organisation’s account
remarks:      name in the subject line.
remarks:      -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
mnt-by:       APNIC-HM
mnt-lower:    MAINT-MY-PIRADIUS
changed:     
hm-changed@apnic.net 20071217
source:       APNIC

person:       PIRADIUS NET Administrator
nic-hdl:      PA124-AP
e-mail:      
abuse@piradius.net
address:      PIRADIUS NET
address:      Unit 21-3A, Level 21
address:      Plaza DNP 59, Jalan Abdullah Tahir
address:      Taman Century Garden
address:      80300 Johor Bahru, Johor
address:      Malaysia
phone:        +607 334 8605
fax-no:       +607 334 8605
country:      MY
changed:     
admin@piradius.net 20071003
mnt-by:       MAINT-MY-PIRADIUS
source:       APNIC
DNS records

name class type data time to live
2009anniversary.com IN MX 
preference: 100
exchange: mail.2009anniversary.com
3600s (01:00:00)
2009anniversary.com IN A 124.217.231.209 3600s (01:00:00)
209.231.217.124.in-addr.arpa IN PTR 10mdc.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
Traceroute

source: click here

Heres info about WebNic.cc

caution:

please be informed that http://www.2009anniversary.com/ is a scam website. Don’t be fooled.

39 responses

  1. Kabir sakaina layin 'yangoro malumfashi

    I JUST RECEIVE A TEXT MESSAGE SAING THAY N1M FREE TRIP TO 2010 W/CUP HAS BEEN GRANTED TO YOU IN THE GAME OF LIFE VERIFY NOW THE CODE NO. GIVEN TO ME IS 462070 PLEASE I WANT VERIFY NOW MY PHONE NO. IS 008034501237 TNX

  2. Mrs Deborah Ayandele

    ON THE 24TH OF SEPTEMBER
    I RECEIVED A MESSAGE ON MY PHONE THAT SAYS N1M AND FREE TRIP TO 2010 W/CUP HAS BEEN GRANTED TO ME IN THE GAME OF LIFE VERIFY NOW.AND THE CODE THAT WAS GIVEN TO ME IS 462070 PLEASE I WANT TO VERIFY NO.SEND THE RESULT TO ME.MY PHONE NO IS 08034530885 THANKS

  3. i have receive a mss from MTN saying N1000000 has been geanted to you in the game of life verify immediately http://www.2009anniversary.com /hp/yor code 462070 happy anniversary i want verify send result thrut my phone no 08036228066 thanks

  4. MTN send me this 2009 aniversary, on 1st Oct 2009 i will confermed whether it is true winner

  5. BASHIR SAMARU ZARIA SARKIN PAWA ROAD SAID 1oct2009 06;30PM I JU
    ST RECIEVE AN MSS FROM MTN SAYING 1000000 HAS BEN GRANTED TO ME IN THE GAME OF LIFE VERIFY IMMEDETLY//WWW.2009ANNIVESARY.COM/HP/YOUR CODE 462070 HAPPY ANNIVERSARY IWANT VERIFY SEND THROUT MY PHONE NOMBER ON 08035763321 THANKS

  6. Mohammed Musa Na Dabo Amshi

    I just receive a message saying a 1million naira has been granted to me in the game of life and ask me to verify immediately my number is 462070, Happy annnivesary and my phone number is 08035768122. Thanks till i here from you.

  7. Umar Mukhtar umar

    1000000 has been granted to me this morning & a free trip to 2010 world cop m code is 462070.MY PHON NUMBER IS 08036910239 .NOTIFY ME MY FOLLOW UP COMMENT ON MY PHONE thanks.

  8. i received a similar message today being 3rd Oct asking me to verify so pls id like to know if its true. with the same code as462070 Thanks.

  9. i mr amale recieved a massage telling me that i am one of the winners of the game of life . that i should go for verification immediately. pls i need your neccesary assistance on this. below is my code number 462070. thanks

  10. with a code number 462070 thanks

  11. I samuel recieved a massage on my cell phone telling me i am one of the winner of game life that i should go for verification immediately, please i do need your assistance on this below here is my code 462070 thanks.

  12. i got the same mail stating my trip to south africa,and a million naira win, i want to know why. my num…08036915596

  13. i got the same mail stating my trip to south africa,and a million naira win, i want to know why. my num…08036915596 is there anything like that by MTN

  14. Thanks MTN for clearifying me.Honestly,i know better now.

  15. TARILA EBIZIMOR

    I received text a stasing that i won N1m.and atrip to 2010 world cup.please clearify me…….

  16. Good Morning,
    I also received a text message from http://WWW.2009anniversary.com/hp/YOURCODE462070.The message look real,cause it seem as if MTN was the one that sent it cause MTN appeared in the inbox.
    I want MTN to send SMS to all is costumer inorder to informed them so that this people will not be a victims to this fraudster cause when i received it,i thought it was real cause i also visited the site to claim my N1M and a trip to south Africa.

    Funsho

  17. I got a message on my phone that I’ve won a trip to S/Africa and 1million naira.How true? My phone number is 08035842733

  18. Paschal Ukachukwu

    I have not stopped laughing since i got these scam mails. I’m faced with real time challenges, but these scam mails have provided such humor. My since prayer is that as these scammers are real fools, innocent victims should not be greater fools than them.

  19. Ibrahim A Aliyu

    just like others, i received this fraudulent text seemingly enough to be true!mtn should do something about it because it is very embarrassing for one to rush to cafe only for him to find out he has been given a run around. will be very glad if I get reply.
    Thanks.
    0813 911 7279

  20. This is a fraudulent practice, and should be stoped with immediate effect.

  21. This no. 0803 584 1220 is my Dad’s. The same scam message was received and he forwarded it to me knowinfully well that I will verify everything before further actions. I bought the text sent via MTN but what I did not buy is the website that doesn’t have relationship with MTN. This won’t work with people like us (My Family) cos We are contented and will not jump at suspicious but rosy and attractive rewards.

  22. i saw this message on the 7th of october this month… i don’t know what it means. it reads as follows: “#1000000.00 & free trip to 2010 world cup has been granted to you in the game of life”
    Is it fraudulent or what? 08034074159

  23. Mike Peters

    this is evil and should be stopped.please never you disclose your ATM no.and pin to this evil cott who will never use their brain to reason well.MTN please do somthing about this.

  24. Can MTN confirm to me or shell more light on the message sent to me that I won N1 million naira and trip to south Africa and confirm to me that they are the one that send the message to avoid fraud.

  25. MTN has no business confirming scam/ fraud e-mails. i want to advice that you all try the links on the menu bar of the purposed site. you will find that all of them (Home, About MTN, Products&Services, Customer Care, News center, MTN Careers, and Sign On) will each take you to wwebsite of James DiStefano, music instructor. Need i say more. It is fraud period.

  26. all they want is your ATM Card number, ATM Pin number and bank account details. Avoid elegant scammers who have not perfected their web sites.
    James DiStefano indeed!

  27. @James DiStefano,
    thanks for the info sir,but I wonder why you have to put up a scam site as well at http://www.winners.au.ms/ just to make your point.

  28. mustapha ibrahim

    OOOH MY GOD
    This is the second time i recieve this kind of bullshit massage from so call mtn 2009 anniversary,why some peoples by all means traying to cheat our fellow nigerans,please MTN you should take a seriouse action against those fraudsters,make sure of highliting your respective subscibers.
    thaks.

  29. pls i received a message concerning winning #1,000,000 in the game of life.pls i will like to get confirmation 4rm MTN. My code is 462070

  30. Mofu – Good Job!
    I stay in Lagos. I got a sms from 180 (supposed to be MTN’s official customer service number), saying that I have been benefitted N1,000,000 in the 2009 October random draw. Ur code is 004848. visit http://www.independentoffer.com within 24hrs for your reward”. To my surprise, this sms comes to me @ 5:13AM . How silly! and then when I went to the website, they ask questions like account name & number, etc. When you ask to verify, they get you back on another page saying that information not verified and this time they ask for your atm card no, pin code, etc. I felt like laughing! My only worry is that people when they see information coming from 180, they cud think it as genuine and might go for it. Isnt this a internal fraud from the MTN? I wonder the classification! Guys, pls record this website! Cheers!

  31. […] Comments Anil on MTN Scam site: investigating…subramanian on Mr Mr. Andrew W. Wolley …bahar on reserve your phone number […]

  32. abdulahi sulaiman

    hi my name is abdulahi sulaiman my phone number is 08034592243 i recive sms from mtn that i have won 1m and a tripe to sout africa20010 that my code is462070

  33. i also receive this text message sating i have won 1m naira, want to you verify it

  34. hi my name is okeeylee my phone no is 08023217000…..i recive asms 4rm mtn dat i won 1m naria,how will i do it

  35. my mtn no is 08034686758

  36. Да уж… Тут как говорят люди: Агнец с бараном — единое племя 🙂

  37. I received a msg sayin i won a million naira. I need confermatiön. My code is 462070

  38. Wow, this piece of writing is good, my sister iss analyzing such
    things, so I am going to inform her.

Leave a Reply

