BEWARE: Central Bank of Nigeria Verve ATM Card fraudulent t35.com website

The following is a scam mail I received in my box last week, with title: apply for your new ATM Microchips and PIN Card (VERVE).

This is the mail:

—–Original Message—–
From: Central Bank of Nigeria [mailto:italian_2010@sbcglobal.net]
Sent: Wednesday, September 23, 2009 2:17 PM
To: undisclosed recipients:
Subject: APPLY FOR YOUR NEW ATM MICROCHIPS AND PIN CARD (VERVE)

 

Dear ATM Card User,

 

This is to hereby notify you of the recent Central Bank of Nigeria

Directive to all banks to switch to the new and secured chip ATM cards.

With this directive,all old ATM cards shall be inactivated.

 

With the new Cards,there shall be no more transaction charges when you use

your ATM cards and it is more secured.go to the website below to register for your new card;

 

http://customerdatabase.t35.com/update/cbn.html

 

You are getting this mail because you have not updated.

 

REGARDS

 

Mr.Tony Ede

Assistant Director,

LAGOS OFFICE

Office Address:Tinubu Square,Lagos

Postal Address:P.M.B. 12194,Lagos.

Fax: +234(1)882 617

 

SCAM CBN site: http://customeroperation.t35.com/online/cbn.html

 

Heres the screenshot of the fraudulent website: (click to enlarge)

 

Cbn2

 

Kudos to these scammers, they at least put some energy? into their endeavor by listing all Nigerian banks, and trying to show ‘many people’ logged on. See screenshots below:

 

Ten-thousand+ users?

Cbn3

 

 

Cbn1

 

Can scammers be rebranded?

Yes, and maybe No.

  • not until our guys at the EFCC get their act together, employ core IT people into core IT areas to track and bait scammers. The EFCC website itslef is hosted abroad – thus they are dependent on their own ‘service providers’. How then can the EFCC provide service?
  • Mr. Tony Ede’s P.O.Box and phone numbers above are valid. If you call the number, it will ring, someone will pick up and say hello. I tried it, told the man I wanted to speak to Amaka, and our guy (whether he’s Mr. Tony or not, I don’t know) told me its a wrong number.
  • what can Nigeria do about web-hosting companies like t35.com who give these scam website designers a hiding place? Similar sites on t35 include: interswitch scam site, MTN scam site.

Can God help us? maybe Not.

 

related posts:

7 responses

  1. Thanks.
    I recieved a similar mail in my box this morning.

    Some innocent people would have posted their information on the scammer’s website.
    Above all, what is EFCC, CBN, VERVE, Interswitch doing about it.

    I was almost trick into it this morning. Because I was looking for a way to renewe my Interswitch ATM which expired 30 Sept 09. Oceanic Bank Collected my details over 6 weeks ago but was yet to renew my card.

    The Complain was that they were try =ing to change to VERVE from interswitch or you will be lured to take VPay which I declined because as a consumer, I have a right to choose which service operator I go with.

    So I almost fell in due to the failure of the Oceanic Bank to renew my card within short time of about 1 week.

    Or CBN who is not standing up to their regulatory duties.

    Or Verve and Interswitch which is not meeting uop with the challenges of the scammers, demands of the consumers and technology requirement of our environment.

    Please, I will advise CBN and Verve to respond quickly to this challenge to avoid innocent pple loosing money.

    Thanks

  2. @Yomi,

    thanks for sharing. Yes, you are right, a lot of innocent people would have been duped, and its surprising that the stakeholders: EFCC, CBN, VERVE, Interswitch, and co,haven’t raised their voices into the air warning people.

    I am surprised that there are no radio jingles, TV adverts, text messages from GSM providers etc., to clients and customers – the general Nigerian populace, warning people not to respond to any notices for online ATM renewals, warning people not to leave their card details on any website etc.

    I’m tempted to think that these institutions/stakeholders benefit in one way or the other from the financial losses people suffer, else they should have lent their voices, especially in informing the general public.

    thanks once again for dropping by.

  3. This is to the web host.

    Thank you for the good work you are doing.

    Please, kindly send a summarized information the this subject to these stakeholders’ web address. I guess you have them.

    EFCC
    CBN
    Verve
    Interswitch
    Oceanic Bank PLC

    I which to know their response, ‘cos we are all stakeholders.

    Thanks

  4. I guess we have to be very careful in Nigeria.
    This is another mail in my box. Targeting GT bank.

    Does GT bank has any mail address like “GeNS@gtbank.com” .

    Customer Alert.Thursday, October 15, 2009 10:14 AMFrom: “GeNS@gtbank.com” Add sender to ContactsTo: undisclosed-recipientsWe regret to inform you that access to your GTBank Online Account and Atm Cards has been temporarily limited.

    This has been done due to several failed log-in attempts.

    To restore your account please log in correctly here:

    http://www.kaynakdunyasi.com//media/system/css/gtbaccount.html

    If you fail to log in correctly your account will be suspended for fraud prevention.

    You will be able to register again for GTBank Online Account only after you authenticate your profile.

    We apologize for the inconvenience, this measure was taken for your protection.

    GTBank Security Team

  5. In fact i am fear of all the information i m receiving on net last week i got i message from CBN connection with interswitch concerning how i could protect me ATM account and e- mail address that, in the message i got they wrote that if i didn’t fill a form from interswitch to protect my acccount that any transaction i made will not be done accordingly. This was what make me fear because i didn’t know those that saying correct thing i was just be thinking may be they are those froudstar or not in fact i didn’t fill the for because i was just be thinking, how can they request for my name, my bank account ,my ATm pin , my e-maill address and my e-mail password. these are all what i am thinking that make me disagree with their notification letter.I now using this medium to appeal to EFCC and nigeria government to please find something to do to dectect bad people among nigerian. Moreso, white men doesn’t believe in anybody who proove him or her self as indiginous of nigeria.

  6. Quality read, I just passed this onto a friend who was making a small research on that. And he actually bought me lunch cause I found it for him.

  7. Thank you very much for the excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a marvelous author. I added your blog to my bookmarks and return soonto your blog. Keep up that exciting job, I hope you will have a nice daytime!

Leave a Reply

